User Tools

Site Tools


how_to_upgrade

How To Upgrade LiteCart

Upgrade from any previous master release version of LiteCart. The upgrade procedure will sort out and apply all necessary version patches.

1. Backup your files AND database!! Do not underestimate the damage that can be caused by a failed upgrade process.

2. Upload the contents of the folder public_html/ to the corresponding path of your installation replacing the current files. Any modified files will be overwritten!

3. Point your browser to http://www.yoursite.com/install/upgrade.php and follow the instructions on the page.

4. Make sure everything went fine and delete the install/ folder.

If there are complications, try switching to the default template and disable any vQmods. If you need help, turn to our forums at https://www.litecart.net.

Please note: Add-ons are version specific and might cause your upgraded platform to malfunction. Make sure all your add-ons are up to date.

Will My Add-ons and vQmods Stop Working?

Both yes, and no. Some will be affected, some not. It all depends on what changes were made to the new version of LiteCart. This is a perfectly natural cause from upgrading. If an add-on or modification stopped working it indicates that there most probably were changes made to LiteCart to improve the original feature, and for users' best experience. You should therefore make sure your add-ons are compatible with the new version.

We always recommend having a development platform for testing. The Add-ons Store has a great tool for transfering changes between the two platforms called Deploy Changes.

All application errors are logged in the ~/data/errors.log file. When loading a page with errors, append ?debug to the URL and you should see extended information regarding the error.

How To Prevent Losing Your Changes Before Upgrading

When upgrading, the only changes you will lose are are hard modified core files. By hard modifications we mean the actual core files themselves and not soft modding through vQmod. Please note any third party files are not overwritten by upgrading.

The only way to prevent losing your hard modifications is to turn them into soft modifications by converting them to vQmods.

How To Transfer Your Modifications Into vQmods

  1. Download an unmodified zipped archive of LiteCart (same version as you are running). And unzip it on your local drive.
  2. Use a file comparison software such as WinMerge to compare the untouched set of files against your modified set of files.
  3. Files that show conflicts are assumingly files you have modified. Create a vQmod that performs the same changes and restore your modified files to the originals. See: How To Create a vQMod
  4. You are now good to go and can easily carry modifications between platform updates.

How To Adapt To Git

If you don't want to transfer your modifications into vQmods you have the option to adapt your project to Git. Using Git you can pull all LiteCart updates with a command and Git will merge them with your modified work.

See How To Adapt To Git

See Also

how_to_upgrade.txt · Last modified: 2020/08/17 12:32 by A User Not Logged in