How To Prevent Losing Your Changes Before Upgrading
When upgrading, the only changes you will lose are are hard modified core files. By hard modifications we mean the actual core files and not soft modding through vQmod. Please note any third party files are not overwritten by upgrading.
The only way to prevent losing your hard modifications is to turn them into soft modifications by converting them to vQmods.
How To Transfer Your Modifications Into vQmods
Download an unmodified zipped archive of LiteCart (same version as you are running). And unzip it on your local drive.
Use a file comparison software such as WinMerge
to compare the untouched set of files against your modified set of files.
Files that show conflicts are assumingly files you have modified. Create a vQmod that performs the same changes and restore your modified files to the originals. See: How To Create a vQMod
You are now good to go and can easily carry modifications between platform updates.
How To Adapt To Git
If you don't want to transfer your modifications into vQmods you have the option to adapt your project to Git. Using Git you can pull all LiteCart updates with a command and Git will merge them with your modified work.
See How To Adapt To Git